$200,000 Budweiser American Invitational, CSI*** Set For April 3 In Tampa

Press Release

WELLINGTON, FL – February 2004 – The crown jewel in the 32nd Winter Equestrian Festival’s gem-laden series of Florida equestrian events is the $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational, presented by Tampa Tribune, which will be held on April 3, 2004, in the Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida, starting at 7 pm.

The American Invitational, first held in Tampa in 1973, is one of the most prestigious equestrian events in the sport, and is limited to the top 30 riders who compete by invitation only. The starting order of go is always a veritable Who’s Who of show jumping. Riders invited to compete are world-class competitors including Olympians, Pan American Games medalists, Nations’ Cup Team competitors, and winners of top-rated international show jumping events.

At the top of the list of invitees, automatically invited to defend his 2003 win, is American Invitational titleholder Chris Kappler.

Invitations will also be issued to the top four riders in the American Grandprix Association Rider of the Year standings as of March 28, 2004; the top-ranked riders on that list include young hotshots of the sport – Alison Firestone, Georgina Bloomberg, McLain Ward, and Aaron Vale, as well as seasoned Olympians Anne Kursinski, Leslie Howard, Norman Dello Joio, and Ian Millar.

Three invitations will be issued to the 2003 Gold Medal Pan American United States Show Jumping Team – Beezie Madden, Lauren Hough, and Margie Engle (Chris Kappler was the fourth member). The Organizing Committee will issue two invitations at their discretion and the remaining 20 invitations will go out to riders based on money won in the WEF Challenge Cup Series of eight events plus the eight Grand Prix events held during the 2004 WEF season. The list of past performers at the American Invitational includes 2002 winner Molly Ashe, Jimmy Torano, Jeffery Welles, Olympians Nona Garson and Laura Kraut, plus the Europeans – Kevin Babington of Ireland, Markus Beerbaum and his wife Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum of Germany, Yann Candele of France, Eric Lamaze and his wife Megan Johnstone-Lamaze of Canada, and Federico Sztyrle of Argentina.

Prize money is awarded to the top 12 places, with the winner receiving $60,000. Steve Stephens will design the course.

Produced by Stadium Jumping, Inc. under the guidance of President Eugene R. Mische, the 32nd Winter Equestrian Festival is the largest and longest consecutively running equestrian sporting event in the world. The 2004 WEF commenced in Wellington, Florida, on January 28 and runs through March 21, then moves on to Tampa for two weeks at the Bob Thomas Equestrian Center, and then caps off with the finale event, the 32nd $200,000 American Invitational, CSI*** in the Raymond James Stadium.
© 2004-2012 Horse Tack Review

 Horse Tack Reviews
 Submit Your Own Review!
 Search Review Database
 All Reader Reviews
 Staff Reviews
 Submit a Product for Review

 English Tack Reviews
 Dressage Saddles
 Jumping Saddles
 Close Contact Saddles
 All Purpose Saddles
 English Saddle Fittings/Pads
 English Bridles
 English Bridle Accessories
 English Show Apparel
 English Casual Apparel
 English Chaps/Boots/Helmets
 English Miscellaneous

 Western Tack Reviews
 Barrel Saddles
 Reining Saddles
 Roping Saddles
 Show Saddles
 Trail Saddles
 Western Saddle Fittings/Pads
 Western Bridles
 Western Bridle Accessories
 Western Show Apparel
 Western Casual Apparel
 Western Chaps/Boots/Hats
 Western Miscellaneous

 Horse Gear Reviews
 Horse Boots and Wraps
 Horse Health and Well Being
 Horse Apparel
 Horse Treats
 Horse Miscellaneous

 Barn & Stable Reviews
 Fly Control
 Grooming Equipment
 Stable Accessories
 Tack Room
 Training Equipment
 Barn and Stable Misc

 Barn and Stable Articles
 English Articles
 Feature and Misc Articles
 Grooming Articles
 Horse Care & Health Articles
 Horse Related Gift Articles
 News and Events
 Training Articles
 Western Articles

 Other Features
 About Us / Contact Information
 Articles & Subjects By Date
 Article Archives
 Join Our Mailing List
 Privacy Policy