Horse Tack Review

Submit your reviews! We will be giving away a pair of the HandsOn Grooming Gloves for the best review posted from now until November 31st. Please read the November 1, 2016 newsletter for additional information on how to enter.

Stellar Roster of Riders Invited to Compete on April 3 in the $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational Presented by Publix and The Tampa Tribune

Showjumping Press Release

Tampa, FL – April 2, 2004 – Stadium Jumping, Inc., producers of the $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational presented by Publix and The Tampa Tribune, officially announced today the roster of riders invited to compete in this year’s event. The “Super Bowl of Show Jumping” will be held at the Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida, on April 3, 2004, starting at 7:00 pm.

The list of invitations issued for the 32nd annual staging of this prestigious event was increased from 30 to 35 riders. According to Eugene R. Mische, president and founder of Stadium Jumping, Inc., the roster was expanded to include more riders who are Olympic hopefuls. The atmosphere and lights of the Raymond James Stadium at night with the electric charge of the crowd is similar to what riders can expect in Athens at the Olympic Games. Competing in the American Invitational will provide additional experience for America’s horses, according to Mr. Mische.

The current American Invitational titleholder, Chris Kappler, and members of the 2003 Pan Am Gold Medal Team received automatic invitations; the remainder of the invitees was determined by points won in the American Grandprix Association Rider of the Year standings as of March 28, 2004 (four riders) and money won in the WEF Challenge Cup Series of eight events plus the eight Grand Prix events held during the 2004 WEF season.

The following list shows the riders invited, ranked by money earned:

1 McLain Ward $73,825
2 Beezie Madden $56,325
3 Kevin Babington $52,500
4 Chris Kappler $49,200
5 Alison Firestone $43,650
6 Kimberly Frey $37,900
7 Anne Kursinski $35,150
8 Ian Millar $30,600
9 Norman Dello Joio $25,775
10 Lauren Hough $25,000
11 Laura Chapot $23,675
12 Derek Petersen $19,750
13 Eric Lamaze $15,500
14 Federico Sztyrle $14,750
15 Eric Hasbrouck $13,750
16 Georgina Bloomberg $12,700
17 Schuyler Riley $12,100
18 Harold Chopping $11,000
19 Megan Lamaze $10,775
20 Yann Candele $8,000
21 Leslie Howard $7,200
22 Judy Garofalo $7,050
23 Clare Bronfman $6,650
24 Ken Berkley $6,000
25 Ray Texel $5,375
26 Jeffery Welles $5,250
27 Molly Ashe $5,150
28 Laura Kraut $5,100
29 Christine Tribble $3,500
30 Kate Levy $3,500
31 Eliza Shuford $3,425
32 Todd Minikus $3,425
33 Jimmy Torano $2,500
34 Debbie Stephens $2,200
35 Mac Cone $2,000

For additional information, visit

AMERICAN INVITATIONAL TICKETS For ticket information for the $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational Presented by Publix and The Tampa Tribune, visit or call (813) 253-2782 or Toll-Free (877) 909-9436. Ticket prices range from $20 to $70 for reserved seating at the Raymond James Stadium.